Announcing the 2018 Newman Civic Fellows

March 8, 2018

Campus Compact is pleased to announce the 268 students who will make up the 2018 cohort of Newman Civic Fellows. The Newman Civic Fellowship is a one-year fellowship for community-committed college students from Campus Compact member institutions. The fellowship honors the late Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact’s founders and a tireless advocate for civic engagement in higher education.

In the spirit of Dr. Newman’s leadership, Campus Compact member presidents and chancellors are annually invited to nominate one community-committed student from their institution for the fellowship. These nominees are individuals who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country and abroad.

Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides a variety of learning and networking opportunities, including a national conference of Newman Civic Fellows in partnership with the Edward M. Kennedy Institute for the United States Senate. The fellowship also provides fellows with pathways to apply for exclusive scholarship and post-graduate opportunities. Fellows from Ohio Campus Compact (OCC) also have access to OCC and other regional events and opportunities.

“We are thrilled to have the opportunity to celebrate and engage with such an extraordinary group of students,” said Campus Compact president Andrew Seligsohn. “The stories of this year’s Newman Civic Fellows make clear that they are bringing people together in their communities to solve pressing problems. That is what Campus Compact is about, and it’s what our country and our world desperately need.”

Ohio Campus Compact is excited to congratulate the following Fellows from Ohio:

Bowling Green State University – Tiffany Smith

Capital University – Jack Spiller

Cuyahoga Community College – Tracy Bellum

Denison University – Emma Goldner-de-Beer

John Carroll University – Sean Freeman

Muskingum University – Kayla Wilkerson

Oberlin College – Zola Barnes

Ohio Northern University – Ben Fink

Otterbein University – Jessica Fannin

University of Dayton  – Sarah Richard

University of Mount Union – Spencer Whyte

Wright State University – Darnell Williams

Xavier University – Andrea Solis Canto