Faculty/Staff Awards

David Hoch Memorial Award

2021 nominations are closed. The 2022 nomination period will open late winter ’22.

David Hoch
The late David Hoch

The David Hoch Memorial Award for Excellence in Service is designed to recognize and honor the outstanding work in service-learning and/or civic engagement performed by a faculty or staff member at an Ohio Campus Compact member institution.  This award is named for the late David Hoch, the Dean of Honors at The University of Toledo, who served as the Director of Service Learning from 1999 – 2005.  Hoch was instrumental in initiating and nurturing the role of civic engagement at The University of Toledo, not only in the Honors Program, but in residence life and other departments as well. His guidance helped grow academic service-learning, student-led community service, and the presidential emphasis on broader civic engagement.

This award is given annually to at least one one faculty or staff member from an Ohio Campus Compact member school. To be considered, the nominee must demonstrate outstanding leadership in furthering the civic mission of the institution.  The president of the college or university must nominate each candidate.

2021 David Hoch Memorial Award for Excellence in Service Recipient:


Dr. Shannon Orr, Bowling Green State University
Professor of Political Science



Learn more about Dr. Orr’s achievements.

Campus Compact Impact Awards

Find national campus, faculty and staff award nominations for Compact members above. ​Nominations are closed for 2021.

Questions? Call us at 740-587-8568 or email admin {at} ohiocampuscompact(.)org.