Student Awards

Charles J. Ping Student Service Award

2018 Award nominations are open! Deadline March 16 @5pm. Download the nomination form below. **Please note only ONE student per campus will be awarded.**

Charles J. Ping, photo used with permission from Ohio University

The Charles J. Ping Student Service Award, sponsored by Ohio Campus Compact, was designed to recognize and honor undergraduate students for their outstanding leadership and contributions to community service or service-learning on their campus and within their community.  These students represent the next generation of civic leaders and problem solvers. The award is named in honor of Charles J. Ping, who served as President of Ohio University from 1975 – 1994.  An early supporter and Board Member of Ohio Campus Compact, Ping has been a tireless advocate for campus-community partnerships and increased opportunities for students to become active and engaged citizens.

This recognition is granted annually to undergraduates at Ohio Campus Compact member institutions.

Students nominated to be a 2017 Charles J. Ping Student Service Award winner compete with other nominees from across the state for two $250 Legacy Award mini grants, to be given to a nonprofit organization of the winner’s choice.  The Legacy Award mini grants are sponsored by Ohio Campus Compact and the **Seretta Saylor Award.


2017 Charles J. Ping Legacy Award Recipients

View the 2017 Ping booklet online!

Kathleen English, John Carroll University University


Lauren Instenes, Wittenberg University

Read more about Kathleen and Lauren’s achievements.

2017 Ping Award Winners:

  • Kelly Largent, Bowling Green State University
  • Jacob Dennie, Denison University
  • Erin Keleske, Kenyon College
  • Della Kurzer-Zlotnick, Oberlin College
  • Brittany Toney and Kara Horvath, Ohio Northern University
  • Michael Mora Brenes, Ohio Wesleyan University
  • Katie Stock & Margaret Heller, The College of Wooster
  • Jen Vliet, The University of Akron
  • Charlotte Shade, University of Dayton
  • Rosie Gleason, University of Mount Union
  • Megan Canfield, Wilmington College
  • Emma Allen, Xavier University

** The Seretta Saylor Award

Seretta was an inspirational and generous individual who understood the importance of education, communication and community.  The Seretta Saylor Legacy Award seeks to recognize those compassionate and generous individuals, and related projects, that systemically address economic, emotional and environmental needs in a community.

  1. Awardees should be able to communicate the scope and impact of their projects.
  2. Awardees should be able to convey why they are emotionally connected to their project. 
  3. Awardees should be able to demonstrate that their service has started a movement, meaning that their service has inspired others to get involved in their cause.

Questions? Call 740-587-8568 or send an email to admin {at} ohiocampuscompact(.)org.

Newman Civic Fellowship
Sponsored by the national Campus Compact, the Newman Civic Fellowship recognizes and supports community-committed students who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country. The fellowship, named for Campus Compact founder Frank Newman, provides training and resources that nurture students’ assets and passions to help them develop strategies to achieve social change. Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides learning opportunities focused on the skills fellows need in order to serve as effective agents of change in addressing public problems and building equitable communities. The 2018 nomination period is closed. Please use the page link above for more information.